4th of July Holiday Projections and April Traffic Continues Upward Climb at Orlando International Airport

Press Release

ORLANDO, FL. – The upcoming 4th of July holiday promises to be busier than ever at Orlando International Airport (MCO). This year’s numbers look to skyrocket by 6.2 percent, bringing in more than 1.4 million passengers to MCO during an 11-day travel period starting Thursday, June 28th and lasting until Sunday, July 8th.

The busiest travel day is projected to be Sunday, July 1st with a total estimated 145 thousand travelers arriving and departing.

4th of July Travel Projections:

Sunday, July 1 145,000
Sunday, July 8 143,000
Saturday, June 30 141,200
Friday, June 29 132,400
Monday, July 2 131,000
Saturday, July 7 130,900
Thursday, July 5 129,500
Thursday, June 28 129,200
Friday, July 6 127,700
Tuesday, July 3 116,000
Wednesday, July 4 114,500

April Statistics: Passenger traffic continued its upward climb in April at Orlando International Airport (MCO). International and domestic traffic increases were on par with each other, each up about two percent for the month.

  • International passenger traffic was up 1.98 percent with 545,855 total passengers in April
  • Domestic traffic climbed 1.84 percent with a total of 3,496,007 travelers moving through MCO
  • Overall traffic increased 1.86 percent with a combined total of 4,041,862 passengers in April

Basic MCO information:
Ranked by J.D. Power “Highest in Customer Satisfaction for Mega Airports” in 2017, with 45 million annual passengers. MCO is the busiest airport in Florida and 11th busiest in the U.S. MCO has 21,000 badged employees and generates $31 billion in revenue for the regional economy. Orlando International Airport strives to value and delight its customers through an airport-wide design concept known as The Orlando Experience® .

Traffic Summary Report