Thanksgiving Holiday Traffic Jumps Nearly 10 Percent at Orlando International Airport

Press Release

ORLANDO, FL. – The Thanksgiving holiday travel season officially kicks off the yearend holiday travel period and if Thanksgiving is any indication, it’s going to be a very busy holiday season at Orlando International Airport.

Predictions based on airline seat reservations show a 9.4 percent jump over last year.

Over the 12-day holiday travel period from Thursday, November 17th and ending November 28th, some 1.4 million passengers are expected at Orlando International Airport.

Thanksgiving 2016 Holiday Travel Numbers:
Busiest days in order: Saturday, November 26 133,905
Saturday, November 19 132,871
Sunday, November 27 125,847
Friday, November 18 123,851
Monday, November 28 122,539
Sunday, November 20 120,315
Wednesday, November 23 117,384
Thursday, November 17 116,728
Monday, November 21 116,112
Tuesday, November 22 114,098
Friday, November 25 108,132
Least busy day: Thursday, November 24 95,029

Record growth combined with construction throughout the terminal will require travelers to arrive inside the terminal building for processing at least two hours in advance for domestic and three hours in advance for international travel. Travelers are advised to allow extra time when parking at the airport to locate a parking space. With the current volume of growth, parking garages may fill quickly.